to Conception Bay
View of Cupids
Monument to John Guy
Head Hiking Trail
Burnt Head Hiking Trail
Cupids Picnic Area
Cove Soiree - 3rd Weekend in July
is one of the most significant historic sites in North America.
Cupids was settled in 1610 by John Guy. It is the oldest official
English colony in Canada and the second oldest English colony
in North America.
1612, an additional group of colonists, including women, arrived.
Colonist Henry Crout recorded the birth (March 27, 2021) of a
child to Nicholas Guie and his wife. This birth is the first recorded
birth of an English child in Canada.
Guy built two ships to explore in order to establish relations
with the Native Beothuk population. He established contact with
Beothuks in 1612.
Drawing of Beothuck Canoe by John Guy
1995, archaeologist Bill Gilbert and his team began preliminary
excavation of a site
in Cupids, which is the location of John Guy's settlement.
Since that time, digging has revealed a fireplace and building
foundations plus about 100,000 artifacts dating back to the early
1600's. Recent discoveries are an almost complete Westerwald drinking
cup and a silver coin from the reign of Charles II.
Drinking Cup 1660-1700
Photo: Baccalieu Trail Heritage Corporation
Cupids Museum and Archaeology Lab display some artifacts found
at the ongoing archaeological project and guided tours are available.
addition, the Cupids Museum displays items from life in a fishing
and farming community. Exhibits include a postal history of Newfoundland
and an exhibit of school-days in Cupids and Newfoundland called
celebrate Cupids' 300th anniversary in 1910 the second largest
Union Jack in the British Empire flew for the first time. The
original flag site has been restored and a replacement flag flies
on weekends and special occasions. The original flag is on display
at the museum.
fascinating link between Cupids and the Pilgrim Fathers is provided
by the Patuxet Indian, Squanto. Squanto, who lived in the Cupids
colony in 1618, later went back to New England. He was one of
two Indian who met the Pilgrim Fathers when they arrived at Plymouth
Rock in 1621. Imagine the surprise of the Pilgrim Fathers when
Squanto spoke to them in clear English!
has spectacular walking and hiking trails. One trail takes you
to the abandoned communities. of "Deep Gulch" and "Greenland".
Another trail takes you to the abandoned community of "Rip
Raps" and to the top of Spectacle Head.
Cupers Cove Soiree takes place each year on the 3rd
weekend of July. During July 2002 the residents will hold the
9th annual festival.
Residents in Colonists' Costumes
View Manor B&B;, Skipper
Ben's B&B; with Dining Room,and Cupids
Museum are members who provice services in Cupids.