Line.GIF (1635 bytes)

RCMP Organization

crest.gif (28075 bytes)

Line.GIF (1635 bytes)


Line.GIF (1635 bytes)


The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is organized under the authority of the RCMP Act. In accordance with the Act, it is headed by the Commissioner, who, under the direction of the Solicitor General of Canada, has the control and management of the Force and all matters connected therewith.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police enforces throughout Canada laws made by, or under, the authority of the Canadian Parliament. Administration of justice within the provinces, including enforcement of the Criminal Code, is part of the power and duty delegated to the provincial governments. The RCMP provides police services under the terms of policing agreements to all provinces (except Ontario and Quebec), the Yukon and Northwest Territories, and under separate municipal policing agreements to 199 municipalities.

Line.GIF (1635 bytes)

Divisions Structure

The Force is divided into 14 divisions.

click on map for details

Line.GIF (1635 bytes)

Divisions Organization

Each division is managed by a Commanding Officer and is alphabetically designated. Divisions roughly approximate provincial boundaries with their headquarters located in respective provincial or territorial capitals (except "A", Ottawa; "C", Montreal; and "E", Vancouver). Divisions have 52 sub-divisions and 707 detachments which range in strength from 1 to over 250 personnel. Air and Marine Services supply support to the divisions.

The RCMP "Depot" Division training centre is located in Regina, Saskatchewan, and the Canadian Police College is located in Ottawa, Ontario.

Line.GIF (1635 bytes)

Position Establishment

The position establishment of the Force as of December 26, 2020 was 21,445. A breakdown of these positions by rank and category is shown below.


Commissioner -- 1

A crown, a star and a crossed sword and baton
Deputy Commissioners -- 5

A crown and a crossed sword and baton
Assistant Commissioners -- 19

A crown and three stars in a cluster
Chief Superintendents -- 28

A crown and two stars
Superintendents -- 99

A crown and one star
Inspectors -- 258

A crown
Corps Sergeant Major -- 1

Coat of arms of Canada (metal and cloth)
Sergeant Major -- 1

Four chevrons, points down, surmounted by a crown (metal and cloth)
Staff Sergeant Major -- 1

A crown emblazoned with maple leaves (metal and cloth)
Staff Sergeants -- 701

Four chevrons, points up (metal and cloth)
Sergeants -- 1,635

Three chevrons, points down, surmounted by a crown (metal and cloth)
Corporals -- 2,954

Two chevrons, points down (metal and cloth)
Constables -- 9,457

Crest of the force surmounted by letters "RCMP and GRC" in perma-gold (Regular Members)
All Members

Identification Badge:  Gold shield with silver crest of force with letters "RCMP GRC" and word "POLICE" in gold on a blue banner c/w regimental number
Special Constables -- 114

With the wording (gendarme special constable) in perma-gold
Civilian Members -- 2,315    
Public Servants -- 3,860    
TOTAL -- 21,445    

The regular member strength as of December 26, 2020 was 14,172.



















Line.GIF (1635 bytes)

� RCMP/GRC 2002